Jun 16th, 2024, 8:39am
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Pages: 1  Reply Reply  Notify of replies Notify of replies  Print Print
   Author  Topic: Cannot use procmon from sysinternals anymore  (Read 5041 times)
hardyb
FabulaTech Forum Newbie
*



View Profile   Email       
Posts: 5
Cannot use procmon from sysinternals anymore
« on: Feb 23rd, 2021, 2:50pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Hello support team,
after installing remote usb server i can not use the process monitor from microsoft/sysinternals anymore.
 
When i try to start procmon.exe i get an error message "unable to load Process Monitor device driver".
It seems as if the remote usb server blocks something.
 
Best regards
Hardy
IP Logged
Sergey_Jarovski
FabulaTech Forum Moderator
FabulaTech Forum God
*****



View Profile   WWW         
Gender: male Posts: 556
Re: Cannot use procmon from sysinternals anymore
« Reply #1 on: Feb 24th, 2021, 10:22am »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Hi,
 
Let me know the following:
- what Windows OS do you use on USB for RD (server) side?
- what version of USB for RD (server) you are using?
- let me know the version of procmon.exe file.
I was able to launch procmon.exe file (3.61 version) on Windows 2016 PC (USB for Remote Desktop (server), v.6.0.6.0) locally and within RDP session.
IP Logged

Sergey Jarovski

FabulaTech
===================
http://www.fabulatech.com
hardyb
FabulaTech Forum Newbie
*



View Profile   Email       
Posts: 5
Re: Cannot use procmon from sysinternals anymore
« Reply #2 on: Feb 24th, 2021, 10:41am »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Hi,
i just downloaded the latest version of procmon 3.61 dated 11 jan 2021.
 
Both sides Client and server are
Windows 10 Enterprise 1909. Build 18363.1377
 
I am using RDP to work from HomeOffice (laptop) on my workstation in the company office.
 
IP Logged
hardyb
FabulaTech Forum Newbie
*



View Profile   Email       
Posts: 5
Re: Cannot use procmon from sysinternals anymore
« Reply #3 on: Feb 24th, 2021, 10:44am »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Version for USB for RD ist the latest Version 6.0.6.0 for  
client and server.
IP Logged
Sergey_Jarovski
FabulaTech Forum Moderator
FabulaTech Forum God
*****



View Profile   WWW         
Gender: male Posts: 556
Re: Cannot use procmon from sysinternals anymore
« Reply #4 on: Feb 24th, 2021, 11:14am »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Hi again,
 
I have no problem in launching procmon.exe (3.61 version) on Win10x64 2009 PC locally and within RDP session.
 
1) Clean the logs of the EventViewer (sys and app) on USB for RD (server) PC;
2) Try to launch procmon.exe with admin rights and reproduce the issue ("unable to load Process Monitor device driver" error message);
3) Save and send the log (sys and app) of the EventViewer to me (support@fabulatech.com).
 
Test the following workaround: rename ftsjail.sys file in the C:\Windows\System32\drivers\ folder and reboot USB for RD (server) PC.
IP Logged

Sergey Jarovski

FabulaTech
===================
http://www.fabulatech.com
hardyb
FabulaTech Forum Newbie
*



View Profile   Email       
Posts: 5
Re: Cannot use procmon from sysinternals anymore
« Reply #5 on: Feb 24th, 2021, 2:13pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

so far renaming ftsjail.sys solved all problems, please see my mail.
IP Logged
Pages: 1  Reply Reply  Notify of replies Notify of replies  Print Print

« Previous topic | Next topic »
Online Talk to our
support team or
sales department.