Online Talk to our
support team or
sales department.
Jun 26th, 2022, 12:09pm
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Pages: 1  Reply Reply  Notify of replies Notify of replies  Print Print
   Author  Topic: GPS  (Read 2487 times)
three83
FabulaTech Forum Newbie
*



View Profile         
Posts: 4
GPS
« on: Jan 17th, 2007, 8:28am »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

I'm using serial port splitter to run 3 applications that access the same com port.  Connected to the com port is a gps.  Sometimes it works great other times not so great.  When it stops working I am unable to get NEMA data from the GPS.  If I stop the serial port splitter software I will start getting NMEA data, then if I restart the serial port splitter software no NMEA data.  Generally after serveral reboots it will start working again for a while then the same thing happens.
« Last Edit: Jan 17th, 2007, 12:54pm by three83 » IP Logged
Andrew
FabulaTech Forum Moderator
FabulaTech Forum Senior Member
*****



View Profile   WWW         
Gender: male Posts: 427
Re: GPS
« Reply #1 on: Jan 18th, 2007, 12:30am »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Hi!
First of all, what version of Serial Port Splitter do you use? Please check if it the latest version.
 
Second question: is your GPS a serial device or USB device. I mean, is it connected to physical serial port, or does it create virtual COM port?
 
One more question: what access rights settings you've configured for split COM ports and what is priority signals COM port setting?
 
Awaiting your reply.
IP Logged

Andrew Scott

FabulaTech
===================
http://www.fabulatech.com
three83
FabulaTech Forum Newbie
*



View Profile         
Posts: 4
Re: GPS
« Reply #2 on: Jan 18th, 2007, 7:29am »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

I'm running Version 3.6.4 of Serial Port Splitter
 
The GPS is a serial device but is connected to the PC with a USB to Serial Adapter.  It is using COM2 on the computer.
 
We are not splitting com ports we have com port 2 shared.
 
Thanks.
IP Logged
Andrew
FabulaTech Forum Moderator
FabulaTech Forum Senior Member
*****



View Profile   WWW         
Gender: male Posts: 427
Re: GPS
« Reply #3 on: Jan 18th, 2007, 7:56am »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

1. Is it possible to send us screenshot of Serial Port Splitter GUI  as soon as error occurs?
 
2. Check and double-check you are using 3.6.4 version, because similar issue was fixed in 3.6.4
 
3. Try split feature instead of share. I mean split COM2 to several virtual COM ports (COM3, COM4, COM5) and use these ports instead of COM2
 
Awaiting your reply.
IP Logged

Andrew Scott

FabulaTech
===================
http://www.fabulatech.com
three83
FabulaTech Forum Newbie
*



View Profile         
Posts: 4
Re: GPS
« Reply #4 on: Jan 18th, 2007, 9:29am »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

There is no error, the applications just stop receiving GPS data.
 
Verified I am running 3.6.4
 
I will attempt trying the split feature but I don't think this will work with our applications.
IP Logged
three83
FabulaTech Forum Newbie
*



View Profile         
Posts: 4
Re: GPS
« Reply #5 on: Jan 18th, 2007, 1:03pm »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

I tried splitting the port instead of sharing and had the same problem.......no NMEA Data from the GPS.
IP Logged
Andrew
FabulaTech Forum Moderator
FabulaTech Forum Senior Member
*****



View Profile   WWW         
Gender: male Posts: 427
Re: GPS
« Reply #6 on: Feb 9th, 2007, 12:43am »
Quote Quote  Modify Modify

Hi, is GPS port virtual or physical COM port?
Could you please check that the port is present in Windows, the disable/enable Serial Port Splitter and try again.
IP Logged

Andrew Scott

FabulaTech
===================
http://www.fabulatech.com
Pages: 1  Reply Reply  Notify of replies Notify of replies  Print Print

« Previous topic | Next topic »